Mama’s Sour Cherry Pie

Welcome back everyone!

I see I have managed to catch your attention with my Selfish Shepherd’s Pie recipe, and I know you’re craving for more!

This recipe is right from my mothers noggin. She is a major, MAJOR role in my life! I would not be remotely interested in cooking if not for her. My mom, and my grandma, cook meals everyday so I have grown up in a home cooking environment!

My mom created this quick and easy pie ‘na glaz’ ; which means: by eyeballing it.
That is completely different from how I cook right now; I’m like a chemist, I usually follow recipe instructions to the letter. My mom? “A sprinkle of this, a dash of that… Maybe more of this…”. She is a GENIUS in the kitchen, I don’t understand how she does it! I hope I will be as good as her one day, but I’m still developing my flavor profiles and palate.

Anyways, on with the show!

Getting ready…

First of all, gently whisk the oil, eggs and milk. The mixture should look like the above picture. Just a bit frothy.

Next, sift your dry materials and drop it into the liquid mixture.

PLOP.

Now, and this is important, gently fold the ingredients together. DO NOT rigorously mix. Trust me, it doesn’t work out. The batter should be sticky by the end of your delicate mixing of the ingredients. When you’re done, pour about 1/2 to 2/3 of the batter into a 9.5″ square silicon or a lightly greased pan (but, silicon works best I find).

You’re almost done! Didn’t I say this was very quick? From here, place your sour cherries in a layer on top of the batter.

Look at all those glistening cherries…

Finally, pour the rest of the batter on top.

Mmmhmm….

Pop this baby into a preheated 350F oven and wait in anticipation!

This piece was dressed up with sugar for the shoot!

Now, appreciate this shot. I had to wrangle it away from my families hands to get it. Do you notice the pie is half gone? Yeah.

You know what other shot I appreciate a lot? This one:

Aren’t I pretty?

Why? Because my mom spent 1 hour taking shots of this poor piece. It was very funny coming upstairs and seeing her inches away from the pie taking pictures, making sure the lighting is correct and so on. See, she’s very into the whole blogging thing and is helping me out a lot. Thanks mom for this great picture!

Recipe

  • 6 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • sour cherries*
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Whisk the liquid ingredients very gently in a bowl.
  3. Sift the dry ingredients together and delicately fold them in with the liquid ingredients. The ingredients are mixed when batter is uniform and sticky.
  4. Pour out 1/2 to 2/3 of the batter into a 9.5″ square silicon pan and top with one layer of sour cherries.
  5. Pour the rest of the batter on top of the cherries.
  6. Place it in the middle rack of the oven.
  7. The top should be golden, and when pierced with a knife, it should come out clean. This will take about 30 minutes.

*the sour cherries we used were  in a bucket, pitted, and called “red tart cherries”. Generally, fresh cherries that are too sweet don’t turn out too well. Make sure you buy sour cherries. And don’t forget to pit them if they are fresh cherries!

I really hope you enjoy making, serving and eating this delicious pie! My mom had to make it twice last weekend because it kept being gobbled up. And it was still all gone on Monday. She joked that it should be called: “Gone-in-30-minutes pie”, and I honestly agree!

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

